City, Through a Cafe Window

‘City, Through a Café Window’

So many cafés, all look out to shop windows
I want to tell him, “That is not the city”, but then, what is

I have travelled in rickshaws and the buses
They only take you from point A to point B, one line at a time

I am wondering now if I am writing nonsense
But I shan’t bother myself this wonderment

It is only the sound that comes from the mouth of an old-ish man in a top hat
When his back is bent condescendingly towards a curious child

There is no wonderment in the child’s eyes
Although all the stories will tell you that there is

I want to tell the child, “Everyone will talk rubbish someday”
“Just don’t worry that you aren’t talking enough of it when they do”

Now I am twenty and officially in my twenties
But I’m not wearing the right pants and I don’t have a daily planner

My walk is far from brusque and I am far from looking like an important person
To the people who never move from where they stand on MG Road

Like vertical almond shells they spin and rotate in my overstated passing by
Sometimes I want to tell them, “I can’t picture the places you must come from”

We all come from the rickshaws

2 thoughts on “City, Through a Cafe Window

  1. I really like these two lines,
    I want to tell the child, “Everyone will talk rubbish someday”
    “Just don’t worry that you aren’t talking enough of it when they do”
    I feel like I was being spoken to. 🙂

Leave a Reply

